Our 78th Anniversary Season

Chamber Music Albuquerque's parent organization, the June Music Festival, was founded in 1942, making us one of the oldest chamber music presenting organizations in the Southwest!

Chamber Music Albuquerque’s mission is to present chamber musicians in live performance, sharing the power of music with the community.

Jennifer Koh and Shai Wosner's Bridge to Beethoven Project

These artists presented a memorable "Bridge to Beethoven" concert for CMA on April 29,2018.  They describe the program below.

"Bridge to Beethoven explores the impact and significance Beethoven has had on a diverse group of composers and musicians. By pairing Beethoven’s ten sonatas for violin and piano with new works over four programs, this project seeks to ignite creative conversations around his music not only as a cornerstone of classical music but as a universal, culture-crossing source of inspiration.


Bridge to Beethoven I features a new commission from composer Vijay Iyer to be paired with Beethoven’s “Kreutzer” Sonata; Bridge to Beethoven II pairs Jörg Widmann’s 'Sommersonate’ with Beethoven’s “Spring” Sonata; Bridge to Beethoven III features newly commissioned, interweaving works by Andrew Norman throughout Beethoven’s Opus 30 Sonatas (Numbers 6,7, and 8); and Bridge to Beethoven IV pairs a new commission by Anthony Cheung to be paired with Beethoven’s final, tenth Sonata.


We passionately believe in the constant evolution of classical music as a vital, living organism through its capacity to include a myriad of influences and hope to illustrate the sustained power of Beethoven's revolutionary voice in our present day community of artists and audiences."

Jennifer Koh and Shai Wosner

Copyright Chamber Music Albuquerque 2015

Rachel Barton Pine